DSLR Camera Tips

Deval

So my fiancée surprised me with a Nikon D3100 with stock 18-55mm lens. This is the first DSLR I have ever owned, and I want to learn how to make the most of it.

Does anyone have experience with DSLRs that can give me some guidance and tips/tricks?

Everyone I have spoken with suggests replacing the 18-55mm lens with a 35mm fixed focus lens, to better learn to "frame" pictures. 

I'm a total novice shooter, and will be taking pictures of general scenery, people, etc.  

Get the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G DX lens. It's a perfect low-light "prime" lens and will give you great subject isolation and has amazing sharpness and great "bokeh". On a crop sensor DX camera like the D3100, you have to multiply the focal length by 1.5 to get the actual focal length in DX crop sensor terms. This makes a 35mm lens around 52mm, which is considered a "standard" focal length in 35mm film or full-frame (FX) terms. 35mm film and full-frame FX cameras do not have a multiplier.

The next lens you decide to get is up to you, depending on what kind of photography you're interested in. The world is your oyster!

I'm actually a professional Nikon photographer and was a writer/gear reviewer for Nikon Rumors.

Good luck!

• Like 3

The best tip I give to people who buy them from me(Target) is to take to time to get to know your camera, play around with it,understand what this function does, compared to another. Equipment wise my Mom got one awhile back and always recommend to get a UV filter pretty quick.

I shot professionally for nearly a decade. Initially landscapes and sports, moving onto events \ weddings \ portraits etc. I am far from an expert, mostly self taught but I would be happy to offer some thoughts.