Google Chromebooks

eljayyy91

I didn't know where to post this so delete or move it if you have to.

I just kinda curious about people's experience with chromebooks, they are cheap and my dad is looking for a cheap laptop he can email, video calls, and get directions for use in his semi. So I'm just wondering for a simple user not needing much out of them if it would be a good replacement for Windows? Performance is kind of a big thing because my dad isn't tech savy and gets frustrated easily. So thoughts?

I'm a teacher and Chromebooks are the "hot thing" right now in schools, mostly because they are cheap, light, and very mobile.  Just like Google has Google Apps for Business, they also have Google Apps for Education and tons of schools are switching to that to give kids their own email address and access to Google Docs, along with the teachers.  Google Apps are certainly neat for collaborating.

A Chromebook is typical smaller and lighter than a laptop.  I think a perfect use of it is light email and web browsing.  They have a really long battery life.  Every program (or app) that is on it comes from the Chrome Store, basically the same as the Google Play Store.  For word processing you'd rely on Google Docs.

Would be a nice use for your dad in his semi, as long as he has an internet connection.  Otherwise it's pretty useless, as mostly everything is done online or saved to the cloud.

• Like 2

I actually have a Chrome book, Acer C720. And it's good for me. Web browsing and video watching everywhere. I have Netflix and plex for my movie needs. And the hdmi port is great so I can just plug it into the TV and watch a movie on it when needed. I can remote into my desktop if I need to do more serious things. I plan on passing this one down to my mom and getting that new chromebook with the tegra k1 soon.