LTE Discovery App for S4GRU

SpenceSouth

-Beta builds have airplane mode cycling on rooted 4.2 and 4.3 devices.  PM Dan for information on joining the beta team:

http://s4gru.com/index.php?/user/17526-danialgoodwin/

So as some of you all know, I am an app developer and make mobile applications for Android and Windows Phone. With that being said I actually just got done creating an application for all of us to use at S4GRU. This app will aid all of us in searching for LTE, particularly in emerging markets. I’m constantly reading all over this site about how we drive around toggling airplane mode searching for LTE and two things came to my mind: 1. We can’t look at our phones all the time so we are bound to miss some LTE and 2. Looking at your phone constantly while driving probably isn’t the safest thing to do.

So with that being Simply Advanced (my brand) has developed this application for us to use. You will be able to effectively search for LTE during your entire commute to work and back without ever looking at your phone.

Features include:

1. Toggling Airplane mode automatically every thirty seconds
2. Ringing when it finds an LTE Connection
3. Marking the LTE connections GPS coordinates- so you can find the site later.
4. Later features will include automatically opening Sensorly to map the area.

Of course I am open to any and all suggestions for this app as it was built for all of you to use.
Please keep this in mind when you guys use it you will all be beta testers for the time-being. The app has seen a few bugs, so I would ask for you all to be patient and to send me feedback in the apps built in feedback menu. Tell me the type of phone you are using, what happened when you encountered the bug, whether you are rooted or not, etc.

Note: Since this app only toggles airplane mode every thirty seconds your text shouldn’t be affected too much, but you may miss phone calls that occurred during the transition.