Jump to content

  •  

Photo

How to Spot Sprint Antennas and RRUs (Ericsson)

Ericsson Sprint LTE RRUS11 RRUS31

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 18 July 2014 - 08:02 PM

29xvoti.jpg

Ericsson RRUS31 B25 + RRUS11 B26

 

These are the newest and greatest remote radio units to come from Ericsson. 

 

The new Ericsson RRUS31  B25 should be fairly distinctive compared to the earlier RRUS11s and now the RRUS12s being deployed by ATT and Verizon. One of these new RRUS31s can do the job of two earlier RRUS11s thus reducing deployment costs for Sprint and complexity in deploying new sites and making it easier for users to spot as there are now 4 jumpers coming out of one RRUS31 rather than two from each RRUS11 that Ericsson originally deployed. 

 

All future deployments will be utilizing the new Ericsson RRUS31s. In addition Ericsson are sending crews to their original deployments and swapping out older RRUS11s for these new RRUS31s due to the aforementioned fact that one RRUS31 can do the job of 2 RRUS11s. Weight savings will be significant at sites where there are 4 or 5 RRUS11 B25s that can be replaced by one or 2 RRUS31s. The Ericsson RRUS31 deployment project is known as the 65 Mhz Project. 

 

I1mkYxKl.jpg

 

OzGC0V6.png

 

Ericsson RRUS11 B26 top and RRUS31 B25 bottom

 

Bz7Qmd9.jpg

 

 

TZgzfRS.png

 

 

 

Ericsson High Capacity / 4x2 MIMO Deployment

Note the additional antenna + PCS radio.

 

Previously Ericsson utilized additional PCS radios and used RF combiners for high capacity setups where they utilized three or more PCS radios. This new setup will utilize a completey new antenna + radio set just like Samsung and run 4x2 MIMO on the LTE antenna / radio set. 

 

uQoHEEx.jpg

 

U7ghY58.jpg

gr2Urg2.jpg

 

Ericsson RRUS11 B25 [EOL'd] and B26

 

A standard Ericsson Network Vision 1.0 site with 3 RRUS11s where two are dedicated to PCS and one to SMR.  

 

This type of setup is no longer deployed or utilized in new sites. Existing sites will be slowly converted to newer RRUS31 B25 via the Sprint 65 mhz project. 

 

r1mLaQL.jpg

 

Ericsson NV high capacity site [EOL'd]

3 or 4 PCS RRUs are present for a total of 4 or 5 RRUS11s per antenna. 

 

msN9oRI.jpg

 

Cg7L4ft.png

 

DxWrTXX.jpg

 

Close up of Antennas

 

j7cE0uz.jpg

 

Ericsson cabinets 

(center)

 

6Lwdp6U.jpg

 

 

All credit to those who took the photographs. They know who they are! :)



#2 darickster09

darickster09

    LTE all the way!!!!

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus 6/Galaxy Note 3 / Galaxy s5 / Galaxy s4 / Iphone 5 / Iphone 4S All Sprint, and all have been rooted/jailbroken/ Motorola Droid Photon / Motorola Droid Bionic (Verizon) / Motorola Droid (Verizon) / Katana (Sprint) & IPad 3 (T-Mobile/AT&T)
  • LocationSouthEast Georgia/Northeast Florida (Moved from Western Washington in October)

Posted 26 July 2014 - 11:59 PM

so whats the purpose of each of the 4 boxes on the back of each antenna?  is it just an ericsson antenna specific thing?



#3 Dkoellerwx

Dkoellerwx

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 11,457 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG G5, LG G4, LG G3, HTC One M8, Nexus 5 , HTC One M7, Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO LTE, EVO 3D
  • LocationSpringfield, MO

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:00 AM

so whats the purpose of each of the 4 boxes on the back of each antenna? is it just an ericsson antenna specific thing?


Those are the RRUs. Remote Radio Units. See the FAQ for a detail explanation.

They are not an Ericsson thing. All of the OEMs use them. Though they all look different, as each company develops their own technology. Samsung uses 2 RRU(H)s, as does Alcatel Lucent.


Sent from my LG G3
David

FB.png TW.png GPLUS.png

The views expressed on this forum do not represent the views of KRBK-TV or Koplar Communications.

#4 darickster09

darickster09

    LTE all the way!!!!

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus 6/Galaxy Note 3 / Galaxy s5 / Galaxy s4 / Iphone 5 / Iphone 4S All Sprint, and all have been rooted/jailbroken/ Motorola Droid Photon / Motorola Droid Bionic (Verizon) / Motorola Droid (Verizon) / Katana (Sprint) & IPad 3 (T-Mobile/AT&T)
  • LocationSouthEast Georgia/Northeast Florida (Moved from Western Washington in October)

Posted 30 July 2014 - 11:32 PM

so perhaps a stupid question, but as i seen from the map samsung is the northwest antennas, but i have seen a few that look like these ericson models?  Do other carriers have deals with ericson up here in the northwest?  or do they tend to stay in the same territory for each carrier?  like does verizon use samsung/ericson/altel lucent as well?  or do they have their own manufacturer?



#5 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 30 July 2014 - 11:35 PM

so perhaps a stupid question, but as i seen from the map samsung is the northwest antennas, but i have seen a few that look like these ericson models?  Do other carriers have deals with ericson up here in the northwest?  or do they tend to stay in the same territory for each carrier?  like does verizon use samsung/ericson/altel lucent as well?  or do they have their own manufacturer?

 

ATT -- Ericsson / Alcatel-Lucent

Verizon -- Ericsson / Alcatel-Lucent

Tmobile -- Ericsson / Nokia Solutions & Networks



#6 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 30 July 2014 - 11:54 PM

so sprint is the only one that uses samsung equipment then?

 

So this would be a samsung one then correct? hope you can clearly see it.  that was taken with the galaxy camera 2.

 

Yes...



#7 Dkoellerwx

Dkoellerwx

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 11,457 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG G5, LG G4, LG G3, HTC One M8, Nexus 5 , HTC One M7, Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO LTE, EVO 3D
  • LocationSpringfield, MO

Posted 31 July 2014 - 12:26 AM

so sprint is the only one that uses samsung equipment then?

So this would be a samsung one then correct? hope you can clearly see it. that was taken with the galaxy camera 2.

Wrong thread. Again........

Sent from my LG G3
David

FB.png TW.png GPLUS.png

The views expressed on this forum do not represent the views of KRBK-TV or Koplar Communications.

#8 darickster09

darickster09

    LTE all the way!!!!

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus 6/Galaxy Note 3 / Galaxy s5 / Galaxy s4 / Iphone 5 / Iphone 4S All Sprint, and all have been rooted/jailbroken/ Motorola Droid Photon / Motorola Droid Bionic (Verizon) / Motorola Droid (Verizon) / Katana (Sprint) & IPad 3 (T-Mobile/AT&T)
  • LocationSouthEast Georgia/Northeast Florida (Moved from Western Washington in October)

Posted 01 August 2014 - 06:23 PM

Wrong thread. Again........

Sent from my LG G3

 

thanks for the reply.  I deleted my post.

 

Kevin



#9 mdob07

mdob07

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,052 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG V20
  • LocationShepherdsville KY

Posted 03 September 2014 - 07:56 PM

Has anyone seen panels like these used in an Ericsson NV deployment? I found these staged at one of our few remaining non NV sites in Louisville, KY. These are slightly different than the usual panels.

 

These are Andrew panels, with input ranges of 698 MHz - 896 MHz and 1710-2360 MHz. 

 

7ATvfs3l.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/7ATvfs3.jpg

 

More pics and details here: http://s4gru.com/ind...stats/?p=358363

 



#10 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 03 September 2014 - 08:20 PM

Has anyone seen panels like these used in an Ericsson NV deployment? I found these staged at one of our few remaining non NV sites in Louisville, KY. These are slightly different than the usual panels.

These are Andrew panels, with input ranges of 698 MHz - 896 MHz and 1710-2360 MHz.


http://i.imgur.com/7ATvfs3.jpg

More pics and details here: http://s4gru.com/ind...stats/?p=358363


Sprint uses off the shelf equipment from the antenna manufacturers. Antenna manufacturers try to include as many frequencies as possible to support a wider client base and limit development costs for multiple different antennas when one can do everything that needs to be done.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk



#11 mdob07

mdob07

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,052 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG V20
  • LocationShepherdsville KY

Posted 03 September 2014 - 08:28 PM

Sprint uses off the shelf equipment from the antenna manufacturers. Antenna manufacturers try to include as many frequencies as possible to support a wider client base and limit development costs for multiple different antennas when one can do everything that needs to be done.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

OK, so hope is not lost yet. I was wondering as there are three other carriers on this tower and these are different than most of the other panels used for Sprint here. Hopefully these get mounted soon.  :tu:



#12 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 03 September 2014 - 08:37 PM

OK, so hope is not lost yet. I was wondering as there are three other carriers on this tower and these are different than most of the other panels used for Sprint here. Hopefully these get mounted soon. :tu:


Remember antennas are agnostic. They can broadcast whatever as long as it's in the supported frequency range and are hooked up properly to a radio.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

#13 mdob07

mdob07

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,052 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG V20
  • LocationShepherdsville KY

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:14 PM

Has anyone seen panels like these used in an Ericsson NV deployment? I found these staged at one of our few remaining non NV sites in Louisville, KY. These are slightly different than the usual panels.

 

These are Andrew panels, with input ranges of 698 MHz - 896 MHz and 1710-2360 MHz. 

 

 

http://i.imgur.com/7ATvfs3.jpg

 

More pics and details here: http://s4gru.com/ind...stats/?p=358363

 

 

Sprint uses off the shelf equipment from the antenna manufacturers. Antenna manufacturers try to include as many frequencies as possible to support a wider client base and limit development costs for multiple different antennas when one can do everything that needs to be done.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

 

It appears I was wrong, this was for another carrier. Went by the site again today and they were actively working on the bottom rack, Sprint is second from the top. Oh well, this site goes back on my watch list. 

 

DzSmYPml.jpg



#14 jeremyvbk

jeremyvbk

    Member Level: 4G LTE

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,137 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Samsung Galaxy S5, Samsung Note 3, HTC One M8 H/K edition(root,s-off),Lg g2, Nexus 5 Rooted , Galaxy tab 3 7", HTC ONE(retired)Galaxy s4 stock, rooted(retired)
  • LocationTyler TX (east TX)

Posted 27 September 2014 - 02:07 PM

Tyler Tx is finally getting these installed, found one site with the RRUS31.

#15 jonathanm1978

jonathanm1978

    What does this button do..

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LGG4x2, GTabS10.5,Gtab4,SGS5, SGNE, SGS3
  • LocationSylacauga, Alabama

Posted 01 October 2014 - 09:45 AM

I also found a site, which has been marked in the sponsor area as "In Progress"...with the new RRUS31 being used.

 

I just happened to drive to the site out of the blue, and they were working on it. Talk about your ironic luck...

 

I hope this site goes live soon, but here's what I got yesterday and today (No change that I can see between today and yesterday, so I'm not sure what work they were doing)

 

Today

https://www.dropbox....70/DSCF0001.JPG

 

Today

https://www.dropbox....ut/DSCF0002.JPG

 

Yesterday

https://www.dropbox....ub/DSCF0380.JPG



#16 mdob07

mdob07

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,052 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG V20
  • LocationShepherdsville KY

Posted 12 October 2014 - 08:53 PM

I was able to get some close up shots of the new RRUS31s courtesy of a GMO site.

 

eWSJl9fl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/eWSJl9f.jpg

 

Lmyzj8gl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Lmyzj8g.jpg

 

tWyaT6Ql.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/tWyaT6Q.jpg

 



#17 JossMan

JossMan

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,140 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Samsung Galaxy S7
  • LocationTri-Cities, TN (Nashville Market)

Posted 16 December 2014 - 04:36 PM

Do these new RRUS31 produce a stronger signal on PCS LTE Band 25 versus the old RRUS11?

#18 joshnys8913

joshnys8913

    Member Level: eHRPD

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 726 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Samsung
  • LocationIn the U.S.

Posted 16 December 2014 - 04:42 PM

nice pics!! 



#19 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,368 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), 3x SGS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 16 December 2014 - 04:44 PM

Do these new RRUS31 produce a stronger signal on PCS LTE Band 25 versus the old RRUS11?

Less weight for similar capability. Potentially stronger signal at the edge but other than that not much changes except you drop a lot of weight from removing two or three old rrus11s which allow you to have more rooms for activities... You know... Like installing a new radio head and antenna.

#20 JossMan

JossMan

    Member Level: 4G WiMax

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,140 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Samsung Galaxy S7
  • LocationTri-Cities, TN (Nashville Market)

Posted 16 December 2014 - 08:18 PM

Less weight for similar capability. Potentially stronger signal at the edge but other than that not much changes except you drop a lot of weight from removing two or three old rrus11s which allow you to have more rooms for activities... You know... Like installing a new radio head and antenna.

Spotted a crew doing a RRU swap today, I believe it was Goodman Networks, they were working on the N and SE facing sectors, could only get LTE on the SW facing sector of the site.  I'll try to get pictures tomorrow depending on the weather and if they have finished up.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Ericsson, Sprint, LTE, RRUS11, RRUS31

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users