Jump to content

  •  

Photo

How to Spot Sprint Antennas and RRUs (Alcatel-Lucent)

alcatel-lucent alu alucent network vision sprint LTE 4g 3g ehrpd

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,671 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), GS8, GS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 31 May 2013 - 03:16 PM

Here are the Alcatel-Lucent (ALU) Network Vision equipment for Sprint. Their equipment consists of 2x base stations, 6 or 9 Remote Radio Unit (RRU) setups, and 1 standard NV antenna of with connectors on the bottom (4x PCS, 2x SMR). 

 

 

29xvoti.jpg

Below are images of Alcatel-Lucent equipment. In these images, you will find Alcatel-Lucent base stations, Sprint Network Vision antennas, PCS 1900 & SMR 800 RRUs, and their configurations.

 

Alcatel-Lucent 4x40w 25 MHz PCS 1900 B25 RRUs (Panasonic) [old]

 

6ovKoim.jpg


Alcatel-Lucent  4x45w 1900 MHz B25 RRU 

 

RmGdQq2.jpg

 

ALU 2x50w B26 800 MHz RRU [KMW Communications]

 

OGsfoEA.jpg

 

Older Panasonic Setup [4x40w 25 MHz B25]

 

SHxS76u.jpg

 

20sf3kZ.png

 

nREYxw5.jpg

 

7097344567_4c0b17e1b1_k.jpg

 

Standard Alcatel-Lucent Setup 

Utilizes 2x50w 800 MHz B26 RRU and 4x45w 1900 MHz B25 RRU and compatible antennas. 

 

P2Klv2L.jpg

 

 

scU9PKU.jpg

 

usuGjAp.jpg

 

 

Closer Look at the connectors on the bottom of the antennas

 

inC0iay.png

 

Special Case Mexican IBEZ Setup

Note the lack of 800 MHz RRUs though the antennas are capable of 800 MHz. 

 

img_mbrmap.jpg

 

QL941eC.jpg

 

High Capacity Setup

 

65PopcJ.jpg

 

uDkts8e.jpg

 

High Capacity no SMR 800 IBEZ setup

 

4PPt9GH.jpg

 

dIm2urh.png

 

Base Station
Alcatel-Lucent BTS9228 Macro product family, formally FLEXENT® Modular Cell 4.0

 

DSCN2542_zpsc34509b7.jpg

 

 

* Credits go to those whom took the images of these equipment. You know who you are."



#2 MacinJosh

MacinJosh

    S4GRU Moderator & Contributing Author

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 11,563 posts
  • Phones/Devices:iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold, White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
  • LocationPahrump, NV

Posted 01 June 2013 - 12:39 PM

Shouldn't this be pinned like the other 2 spotting threads? Thanks to the moderator who pins it.

 

Great job lilotimz! Excellent setup!


Current Devices:
iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold & White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
Mid 2014 15" MacBook Pro Retina Intel Core i7 @ 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM & 512GB PCIe SSD

Late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.5 GHz Quad Core (project in the works)


#3 bakedc4

bakedc4

    Member Level: eHRPD

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 793 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Sprint HTC 10, Fi Nexus 5X, AT&T iPhone 6+
  • LocationWinchester, VA

Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:37 PM

http://db.tt/YPV29Lzo a bunch of pictures of ALU equipment in the shentel area. Free to use.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 4 Beta



#4 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,671 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), GS8, GS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:53 PM

http://db.tt/YPV29Lzo a bunch of pictures of ALU equipment in the shentel area. Free to use.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 4 Beta

 

Much thanks for the pics of the older style setups. OP has been updated accordingly.



#5 S4GRU

S4GRU

    S4GRU Administrator

  • Administrator
  • 28,731 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, Nexus 5, OnePlus 2, Kyocera Brigadier
  • LocationAnywhere USA

Posted 02 June 2013 - 07:39 AM

That bottom pic of the base station cabinets are legacy. New ALU cabinets look different.

Robert via Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta



#6 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,671 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), GS8, GS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 02 June 2013 - 10:50 AM

That bottom pic of the base station cabinets are legacy. New ALU cabinets look different.

Robert via Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

 

Swapped out the image for another. It's kinda surprising at how little pictures of ALU NV base stations there are considering they're in same of the biggest markets.



#7 ericdabbs

ericdabbs

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,800 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Galaxy Note 5, LG G2, Photon 4G (Wimax)
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

Posted 02 June 2013 - 11:56 AM

Wow that Mexican IBEZ boundary is so large.  It practically almost covers Los Angeles. Hopefully Sprint and the Mexican government can work something out so that Tucson and San Diego can get 800 MHz support at some point.

 

Also does anyone know how long ago did Alcatel Lucent switched over from the older RRU setups to the newer RRU setups?  



#8 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,671 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), GS8, GS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 02 June 2013 - 03:56 PM

 

Also does anyone know how long ago did Alcatel Lucent switched over from the older RRU setups to the newer RRU setups?  

 

Began with the third round markets iirc.



#9 digiblur

digiblur

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,987 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus5
  • LocationNOLA Market

Posted 02 June 2013 - 05:12 PM

What was the older ones?

Sent from my little Note2



#10 MacinJosh

MacinJosh

    S4GRU Moderator & Contributing Author

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 11,563 posts
  • Phones/Devices:iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold, White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
  • LocationPahrump, NV

Posted 02 June 2013 - 05:29 PM

What was the older ones?

Sent from my little Note2


Before AlcaLu was using 2 RRU's for PCS, one 1x/EVDO and 1 LTE.


Sent from Josh's iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2

Current Devices:
iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold & White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
Mid 2014 15" MacBook Pro Retina Intel Core i7 @ 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM & 512GB PCIe SSD

Late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.5 GHz Quad Core (project in the works)


#11 digiblur

digiblur

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,987 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus5
  • LocationNOLA Market

Posted 02 June 2013 - 05:33 PM

What was the older ones?



Sent from my little Note2




Before AlcaLu was using 2 RRU's for PCS, one 1x/EVDO and 1 LTE.





Sent from Josh's iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2


Ericsson is still doing this on some sites even with the dual use RRU but I don't mind it since it offers much more flexibility down the road.

Sent from my little Note2



#12 MacinJosh

MacinJosh

    S4GRU Moderator & Contributing Author

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 11,563 posts
  • Phones/Devices:iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold, White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
  • LocationPahrump, NV

Posted 02 June 2013 - 05:36 PM

Ericsson is still doing this on some sites even with the dual use RRU but I don't mind it since it offers much more flexibility down the road.

Sent from my little Note2


And in Vegas AlcaLu is only doing it to a small handful of sites. Hopefully they are all dual-mode RRU's and not single mode, but then again, it really wouldn't matter too much for the fact it'll provide the same capacity regardless of what modes.


Sent from Josh's iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2

Current Devices:
iPhone 7 Plus 256GB Gold & White/Silver iPad mini 2 64GB
Mid 2014 15" MacBook Pro Retina Intel Core i7 @ 2.5GHz, 16GB RAM & 512GB PCIe SSD

Late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.5 GHz Quad Core (project in the works)


#13 digiblur

digiblur

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,987 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus5
  • LocationNOLA Market

Posted 02 June 2013 - 06:02 PM

And in Vegas AlcaLu is only doing it to a small handful of sites. Hopefully they are all dual-mode RRU's and not single mode, but then again, it really wouldn't matter too much for the fact it'll provide the same capacity regardless of what modes.


Sent from Josh's iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2

 

Actually no they will have the ability to use more spectrum capacity without having to climb the site.



#14 kvnjcby

kvnjcby

    Member Level: Digital

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Phones/Devices:LG Nexus 5
  • LocationCary, NC

Posted 02 June 2013 - 08:25 PM

Swapped out the image for another. It's kinda surprising at how little pictures of ALU NV base stations there are considering they're in same of the biggest markets.


The cabinets in your new pic look like legacy Motorola cabinets to me, not NV. When I first started tower stalking, I originally thought those cabinets were Network Vision as well since there are so few pics of the new ALU ones here :D. Here's an album of some pictures I have of NV ALU cabinets: http://imgur.com/E7f...w229fq7,GGhYt7m.

I can try to go back and get some clearer shots of the fronts of these cabinets. They seem have a habit of installing them with the fronts facing away from the fence, so it's often hard to get a good view!

#15 lilotimz

lilotimz

    S4GRU Moderator

  • S4GRU Staff
  • 8,671 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Pixel 5", Nexus 7 (2013) & 9 (2014), GS8, GS7, iPad Air 2
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 02 June 2013 - 08:28 PM

The cabinets in your new pic look like legacy Motorola cabinets to me, not NV. When I first started tower stalking, I originally thought those cabinets were Network Vision as well since there are so few pics of the new ALU ones here :D. Here's an album of some pictures I have of NV ALU cabinets: http://imgur.com/E7f...w229fq7,GGhYt7m.

I can try to go back and get some clearer shots of the fronts of these cabinets. They seem have a habit of installing them with the fronts facing away from the fence, so it's often hard to get a good view!

At last! Someone offers up images of the ever elusive ALU cabinets! Much thanks! And yes, frontal images of the cabinets would be nice~



#16 juant87

juant87

    Member Level: 1x Advanced

  • S4GRU Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Phones/Devices:iphone 5
  • LocationLaredo

Posted 03 June 2013 - 09:24 AM

Can anyone provide me with the address of an LTE live site in Laredo, Tx? I can swing by tomorrow since i'm off work and take a picture or two..I think there is one right off Mcpherson and Calle del Norte, since i get a few bars in LTE close by..Can anyone confirm?


Sent from my iPhone5 using Tapatalk 2

#17 ericdabbs

ericdabbs

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,800 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Galaxy Note 5, LG G2, Photon 4G (Wimax)
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

Posted 11 June 2013 - 11:11 AM

Quick question about the dual mode Alcatel RRUs (this might have been answered before), how many CDMA and LTE carriers is it capable of handling?  I am just trying to figure out how future proof these dual mode RRUs in terms of adding additional capacity.

 

How do the dual mode Alcatel RRUs fare against the other vendors in terms of number of CDMA and LTE carriers those dual  mode RRUs can support?



#18 bjorn60

bjorn60

    Member Level: iDEN *chirp*

  • S4GRU Member
  • Pip
  • 63 posts
  • Phones/Devices:HTC EVO 4G LTE
  • LocationWarminster, PA. United States

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:43 PM

http://db.tt/YPV29Lzo a bunch of pictures of ALU equipment in the shentel area. Free to use.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Thanks for these pictures, it helps a lot to know what to look for.

 

One question in particular that you may be able to answer for me in regards to the stealth site you took pics of; where do they put the LTE panels?  I can clearly see the new NV panels near the top of the "flagpole" but where would they put the LTE RRU's?



#19 digiblur

digiblur

    Member Level: LTE Advanced

  • Honored Premier Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,987 posts
  • Phones/Devices:Nexus5
  • LocationNOLA Market

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:50 PM



http://db.tt/YPV29Lzo a bunch of pictures of ALU equipment in the shentel area. Free to use.


Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Thanks for these pictures, it helps a lot to know what to look for.

One question in particular that you may be able to answer for me in regards to the stealth site you took pics of; where do they put the LTE panels? I can clearly see the new NV panels near the top of the "flagpole" but where would they put the LTE RRU's?


Sometimes you can't see the antennas. They put the RRUs wherever they can. Behind something else, on the ground, etc.

#20 latoso

latoso

    Member Level: 1x Advanced

  • S4GRU Premier Sponsor
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Phones/Devices:nexus10, sg3, sg2, htc evo 3d, htc evo 4g, htc hero
  • Locationjackson heights NY

Posted 14 June 2013 - 10:33 AM

im 82 st and northern blvd and the tower is on 80 st and northern blvd, the panel with six cables has been removed is that normal?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: alcatel-lucent, alu, alucent, network vision, sprint, LTE, 4g, 3g, ehrpd

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users