Jump to content
mikejeep

SignalCheck - Android app to monitor your 2G/3G/4G LTE signal strengths

Recommended Posts

13 hours ago, clbowens said:

When you say tri-band antenna, is that an antenna on the tower that does B25, B26 and B41 all in one?  If so, is there a pic of one of those?

You have some excellent folks in Cleveland.  Donate the cost of lunch and at become a sponsor to more easily hook up with them.  Then you can go here for more info: 

They also have a Premier forum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey @Mikejeep, it looks like LTE shows no connection on my Honor 8 running stock.  Do you know what could be causing this?  I sent in a diagnostics report in case that helps.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/29/2017 at 2:21 PM, Ascertion said:

Hey @Mikejeep, it looks like LTE shows no connection on my Honor 8 running stock.  Do you know what could be causing this?  I sent in a diagnostics report in case that helps.  

Most (all?) Huawei devices do not report valid signal information to the OS, at least not by any methods I have found. It is very annoying. Do any other similar apps seem to work?

There are some non-zero numbers in your report that might be helpful, but I have no idea what they might represent. If you (or anyone else with a Huawei) want to try sending a handful of diagnostic reports from areas with varying signal data, I can compare them to see if they match up with anything useful. You'll need to be somewhere stationary with a fairly stable signal, because I'll need any signal metrics you may be able to gather by other means at the time of your report by either the data on the stock Settings menu (on Oreo it's buried under Settings > System > About > Status > SIM status > Signal strength), a dialer code, or another app. For example, if you say your RSRP is -94 and RSRQ is -3, I can look at your report and see if any of the random integers appear to match, and then we can work from there to confirm things.

-Mike

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/22/2017 at 3:57 PM, mikejeep said:

It appears that Oreo is not reporting valid Wi-Fi frequency information when DFS is enabled (thanks @ingenium). Please 'star' this issue if you feel inclined, and add any comments with your device and exact OS version so hopefully it gets some attention:

https://issuetracker.google.com/issues/66697994

Android has assigned someone to investigate this issue and they are asking for specific information from users experiencing this problem (@ingenium @lilotimz and others). They need to know what devices are affected as well as OS bug reports taken while the problem is occurring. I do not have DFS so I can't provide any direct feedback for them, but if anyone experiencing this could visit the link above and post their device information and attach a bug report (see below for instructions), they will investigate it. I already replied to their other questions.

Quote

Android bug report
After reproducing the issue, press the volume up, volume down, and power button simultaneously. This will capture a bug report on your device in the “bug reports” directory. Attach the bug report  file to this issue.

Alternate method:
After reproducing the issue, navigate to developer settings, ensure ‘USB debugging’ is enabled, then enable ‘Bug report shortcut’. To take bug report, hold the power button and select the ‘Take bug report’ option.

Let me know if you have any questions. If you prefer not to post directly to the Issue Tracker, send me the bug report (support@bluelinepc.com) and your device details, and I'll pass it along.

Thanks,
-Mike

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

GS8+ Oreo beta shows everything nowa62a8279564ac6a58046d9b0ee042ce3.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  • Like 1
  • Love 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
GS8+ Oreo beta shows everything now


Nice. Makes me wonder if the S7E will be the same, if we get Oreo at all. Then again I'm on the Verizon variant.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, david279 said:
GS8+ Oreo beta shows everything now

Woohoo!! That's great news. Is that Android 8.0 or 8.1?

Anyone who is running 8.1, please let me know if you see any improvements.. really hoping neighbor cells on other bands will start working again instead of showing "Unknown".

-Mike

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, mikejeep said:

Woohoo!! That's great news. Is that Android 8.0 or 8.1?

Anyone who is running 8.1, please let me know if you see any improvements.. really hoping neighbor cells on other bands will start working again instead of showing "Unknown".

-Mike

 

I'm on the 8.1 beta, still getting unknown for most neighbor cells

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wanted to check in and share an update. I have made tremendous progress in resolving several issues that have been causing crashes and instability.. it's not flashy or exciting, but definitely something that improves the app. It will also allow me to finally release an update to the Lite version. There is still some more testing to be done, but I anticipate a public release within a week. There will be a few other small improvements as well.

-Mike

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have picked up a 0F0 in my logs using b41. I will try to figure out if it is an Airave, Magic Box or S1000 (matches that earfcn for the area).

 

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

 

 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, dkyeager said:

I have picked up a 0F0 in my logs using b41. I will try to figure out if it is an Airave, Magic Box or S1000 (matches that earfcn for the area).

I am fairly certain that 0F0 = Magic Box (that's what I have in the current SCP beta). I only have 0E8 and 0EA reported for Airave/S1000 cells. Airave will have a PCI in the low 500's.

-Mike

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, mikejeep said:

Airave will have a PCI in the low 500's.

-Mike

Or the high 400s. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am fairly certain that 0F0 = Magic Box (that's what I have in the current SCP beta). I only have 0E8 and 0EA reported for Airave/S1000 cells. Airave will have a PCI in the low 500's.

-Mike

PCI=502, I will try to find out what it is.

 

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, dkyeager said:

PCI=502, I will try to find out what it is.

 

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

 

 

 

Magic Box.  Per a call with MB Support about a month ago, they told me that to see if I was connected to a MB, to look for a PCI in the 500's.

 

Edit:  Sorry -  I saw others mentioned above that 502 is likely a MB.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Magic Box.  Per a call with MB Support about a month ago, they told me that to see if I was connected to a MB, to look for a PCI in the 500's.

Trust but verify is one of my mottos. It is a Magic Box.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

 

 

 

 

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/7/2017 at 4:25 PM, RAvirani said:

Or the high 400s. 

Ahh, didn't know Airaves dipped below 500.. good to know, thanks!

 

12 hours ago, shaferz said:

Magic Box.  Per a call with MB Support about a month ago, they told me that to see if I was connected to a MB, to look for a PCI in the 500's.

Could be an Airave too though.. my Airave 3 is 501, I have heard of 502-503 as well. That's what the CDMA NIDs are/were too.

-Mike

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@mikejeep, a few things:

I'm starting to notice in my area (Chicago/NW Indiana) that Verizon is deploying Band 5, but SCP doesn't display it as such, but without anything other than LTE. The ones in my area are using 16, 26, & 36 (decimal) and was confirmed on my Nexus 6P with NSG and matched up with my Galaxy S7 Edge (no EARFCN :wacko:). However, I've noticed elsewhere while browsing CellMapper that B5 has several other sectors such as (15, 25, 35), (18, 28, 38), and (19, 29, 39). Unlike B4 (and maybe B2?) where there are second carriers, these appear not to be as such as I haven't seen any sites with two different B5 sectors. So far I haven't noticed any correlation on the assignments but as soon as I find more data, I'll hopefully see it.

I've also noticed while browsing that there are sectors assigned (72, 82, 92 - B4) and (74, 84, 94 - B2) along with the normal macro-style numbering in the San Francisco area, which appear to be a small cells. To what I've notice so far a site can have three different eNB numbers, but are seem to be treated as sectors. For example, I've found 3 cells with different eNBs but the same PCI (38032, 338032, 638032). The only difference is the starting number (0, 3, 6). Along with the B5 issue, I'll be doing some research on this as well.

 

Last thing, would it be possible to be able to get the cell data in SCP without being actually connected to the network, much like NSG or CellMapper does? I'm using a Nexus 6P that has a SIM issue and in those apps I can still see cell data, although from different carriers. I use it frequently along with NSG to lock bands to determine which carrier(s) are at a site, although it can be unpredictable. Adding the ability to have SCP do this as well would be extremely useful. Maybe, have it be an option to turn this feature on/off.

Thanks as always, Mike!

EDIT: I also forgot to mention that there's also something that could be added is Verizon's Network Extenders (femtocells). So far the ones I've found all start with the hex FA and FB. Many units share the same eNB but have different sectors. Could those be added as well?

Edited by RyanThaDude
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, RyanThaDude said:

@mikejeep, a few things:

I'm starting to notice in my area (Chicago/NW Indiana) that Verizon is deploying Band 5, but SCP doesn't display it as such, but without anything other than LTE. The ones in my area are using 16, 26, & 36 (decimal) and was confirmed on my Nexus 6P with NSG and matched up with my Galaxy S7 Edge (no EARFCN :wacko:). However, I've noticed elsewhere while browsing CellMapper that B5 has several other sectors such as (15, 25, 35), (18, 28, 38), and (19, 29, 39). Unlike B4 (and maybe B2?) where there are second carriers, these appear not to be as such as I haven't seen any sites with two different B5 sectors. So far I haven't noticed any correlation on the assignments but as soon as I find more data, I'll hopefully see it.

I have B5 as 17/27/37/47/57/67 (dec) from @Trip but that's the only confirmed B5 data I have received. The 15.. 16.. 18.. 19.. examples do not conflict with anything else I have noted, so all of those might be accurate. Have you definitively confirmed each of those? I can't wait for the day when every device reports EARFCNs.. @david279 mentioned above that Samsungs are reporting on the Oreo 8.1 preview which is huge.

 

Quote

I've also noticed while browsing that there are sectors assigned (72, 82, 92 - B4) and (74, 84, 94 - B2) along with the normal macro-style numbering in the San Francisco area, which appear to be a small cells. To what I've notice so far a site can have three different eNB numbers, but are seem to be treated as sectors. For example, I've found 3 cells with different eNBs but the same PCI (38032, 338032, 638032). The only difference is the starting number (0, 3, 6). Along with the B5 issue, I'll be doing some research on this as well.

Keep me updated.. I just have to be careful to assume that something deployed in one market is going to hold true elsewhere (i.e. T-Mobile's mess).

 

Quote

Last thing, would it be possible to be able to get the cell data in SCP without being actually connected to the network, much like NSG or CellMapper does? I'm using a Nexus 6P that has a SIM issue and in those apps I can still see cell data, although from different carriers. I use it frequently along with NSG to lock bands to determine which carrier(s) are at a site, although it can be unpredictable. Adding the ability to have SCP do this as well would be extremely useful. Maybe, have it be an option to turn this feature on/off.

NSG is not a good comparison, because they do not use native Android API methods, they communicate directly with the modem using routines not available to anyone else. It results in great data, but for now it's not the type of information within my reach. But I should be able to do anything CellMapper is showing -- could you give more details? SCP should show the same data.

 

Quote

EDIT: I also forgot to mention that there's also something that could be added is Verizon's Network Extenders (femtocells). So far the ones I've found all start with the hex FA and FB. Many units share the same eNB but have different sectors. Could those be added as well?

Sure, so GCI like FAxxxxxx / FBxxxxxx? Can you confirm any other details? PLMN 311480 I assume? Nobody has mentioned them.

-Mike

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/7/2017 at 1:41 PM, mikejeep said:

Wanted to check in and share an update. I have made tremendous progress in resolving several issues that have been causing crashes and instability.. it's not flashy or exciting, but definitely something that improves the app. It will also allow me to finally release an update to the Lite version. There is still some more testing to be done, but I anticipate a public release within a week. There will be a few other small improvements as well.

This has dragged out a bit so I want to keep everyone else in the loop.. just about everything is ready for release. However, I discovered a significant bug in a permissions library that SignalCheck uses. I am working with the developer of that library to get it fixed before I push out a public update. Without the fix, some of the ongoing issues with Android permissions will continue to persist.

-Mike

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, mikejeep said:

I have B5 as 17/27/37/47/57/67 (dec) from @Trip but that's the only confirmed B5 data I have received. The 15.. 16.. 18.. 19.. examples do not conflict with anything else I have noted, so all of those might be accurate. Have you definitively confirmed each of those? I can't wait for the day when every device reports EARFCNs.. @david279 mentioned above that Samsungs are reporting on the Oreo 8.1 preview which is huge.

Yes, it's been confirmed. These are the cells I found a few days ago, which are on CellMapper. Thankfully my N6P got the EARFCNs since the S7E didn't. I saw that post and gave a slight glimmer of hope for Samsung but considering I'm on VZW I'm sure they'll neuter it because, well, that's what they do best.

1 hour ago, mikejeep said:

Keep me updated.. I just have to be careful to assume that something deployed in one market is going to hold true elsewhere (i.e. T-Mobile's mess).

Done & done! Definitely understandable. I'll be doing some more digging around and let you know what I find.

1 hour ago, mikejeep said:

NSG is not a good comparison, because they do not use native Android API methods, they communicate directly with the modem using routines not available to anyone else. It results in great data, but for now it's not the type of information within my reach. But I should be able to do anything CellMapper is showing -- could you give more details? SCP should show the same data.

Fair enough about NSG, but CellMapper will mostly show the same info as well. Here are a few screenshots of my N6P showing the cell data from my network extender in NSG, CM, SCP, and Android's phone info screen. While the device is rooted, CM isn't using it so I can only assume that's it's getting the data via the API. Again, this was just a thought since it would allow capture of data without or with a bad SIM.

1 hour ago, mikejeep said:

Sure, so GCI like FAxxxxxx / FBxxxxxx? Can you confirm any other details? PLMN 311480 I assume? Nobody has mentioned them.

I have an extender (311480, yes) that's currently using the first three hex of 0FB, and a few in the area as well (same ID, different sector), but it was once assigned 0FA a few months ago. By default they use B13, but they can be configured by Big Red to use B4. Sadly, since my S7E doesn't capture EARFCNs, I'm unable to determine if there's a difference in B13 and B4 IDs. Only a select few were able to get captured by the N6P and they were all B13.

Cheers!

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • gallery_1_23_9202.png

  • Similar Content

    • By danlodish345
      hey guys i am due for a upgrade today....i am curious on the opinions of others of what phone is a great phone... any opinions are welcome !
    • By jakeuten
      Just a bit of insight. I live near UMD in Duluth, MN. Sprint's signal is clearly much 'dirtier' with a 1.0 SNR compared to T-Mobile's 20.4 SNR. I don't have a screenshot from the same time, but I get about a 22 to 29 SNR with T. I know that AT&T uses RRU's but I'm not too sure about Sprint or T-Mobile. Also, I didn't even know they had L2500 where I live, but I force checked it on my Samsung S7 (AT&T). 


    • By danlodish345
      hey guys i m curious what you guys think about rooting phones and the positives and negatives about it.... let the discussion begin!
    • By MarshieZ
      Karma Go Hotspot Discussion & User Thread

      Since we don't have an official spot for this little hotspot, I'd like to make one... meet the Karma Go hotspot. Running off the Sprint LTE network, the Go is a Spark/LTE Enhanced enabled, tri-band hotspot.
       
      Currently it runs for $149. Down below in post #2 you'll find all the information that I've compiled about Go.
       
      For anyone who has never heard of Karma, check out the Karma Go. 
          If you'd like to purchase the Karma, PM me and I can give you my referral code for an extra $10 off your purchase!
      Be sure to watch for sales to get the Go at $99 and if you add my code in, $89! 
       
       
      Current Sale(s):
       
      Not at this time... Check back soon!
    • By S4GRU
      Did you know that with many Sprint (Uniband) LTE Android devices, the signal strength indicator at the top does not show your LTE signal strength? Even if 4G or LTE is displayed next to it?
       
      That's right!  This signal displayed here is your 1x (voice signal), and it is not your 3G EVDO signal strength, nor your LTE signal strength.  Regardless of whether it says 3G or 4G next to it. This is the cause of a lot of confusion.  Also, third party apps like NetMonitor do not show accurate LTE signal strengths. They also only show the 1x signal strength, even though they may reference being connected to LTE.
      The purpose of this thread is to help educate the masses, because many people think they have a strong LTE signal, when in fact they do not. And then they are unhappy, thinking that Sprint LTE is really slow, even with a strong signal. LTE performance is very signal strength dependent. So, when you have a weak signal, you can expect much slower than peak results.
       
      There is only one accurate way to get your LTE signal strength, and that is from your LTE Engineering screen in your Debug menu. And we will discuss the different ways to get that below.
       
      ...In HTC, Motorola & LG Sprint LTE devices:
      Go in to your phone app, and dial ##DEBUG# Select LTE Engineering Go down to RSRP. The number under RSRP shown in dBm is your LTE signal strength. ...In Samsung Sprint LTE devices:
      Go in to your phone app, and dial ##DEBUG# Enter 777468 for your lock code Select LTE Engineering Go down to RSRP. The number next to RSRP shown in dBm is your LTE signal strength. ...In the Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 5:
      Go in to your phone app, and dial *#*#DEBUG#*#* Enter 777468 for your lock code Select LTE Engineering Go down to RSRP. The number next to RSRP shown in dBm is your LTE signal strength. The LTE Signal Strength Scale:
       
      Now you have determined your actual LTE signal strength in dBms your device is receiving, you can use the following scale below to determine its strength:
      Better than -88dBm RSRP is a strong signal Between -89dBm and -96dBm is a very good signal Between -97dBm and -105dBm is good Between -106dBm and -112dBm is fair Worse than -113dBm RSRP is poor Feel free to link people to this thread for explanation. Hopefully, this will clear up some confusion out there!
       
       
  • Posts

  • Recently Browsing

    No registered users viewing this page.

×